Digital Product

Standard

This digital product was made using Mixbook.(www.mixbook.com) It is intended to be used as a way to display word problems that  accelerated 1st grade math students wrote and illustrated.  This book will be viewed in class with a LCD monitor so that students can solve and discuss each other’s work.  The number sentences will be omitted and then added with student input.

Concept:  Math – Addition and subtraction computational fluency and problem solving.

Howard County Objectives:

Solve given word problems based on addition and subtraction situations and describe the results using pictures, numbers, and or words. (2.6.C.1.d)\

Write word problems for addition and subtraction situations. (2.6.C.1.d)

http://www.mixbook.com/photo-books/education/problem-solving-stories-7332951

 

I had a hard time deciding what to do as a project for this assignment.  I had my heart set on using another web 2.0 tool but had difficulty with the site.  Mixbook is a great tool for making scrapbook type of projects but it doesn’t seem to let you import pictures from a Flickr gallery as was my first plan.  (If anyone wants some good Flat Stanley photos you can visit the Flickr galleries, Flat Stanley, and Flat Stanley 2,  I made thinking I could import them to Mixbook.)  My final product is simple but I think my students will love it!

3 responses »

  1. Liz, I love the scrapbook created with the student artwork and photos! Students will enjoy seeing their own work and faces integrated into a class project such as this. The scrapbook really helps the word problems seem more like a fun riddle than true work. It would be great if you could collaborate with another 1st grade teacher whose class could complete a similar project. Each class could then swap and share scrapbooks to solve the problems.

    • Great idea, Melissa! I love this scrapbook, too. It may be simple, but the fact that students will see themselves and their classmates will definitely increase their interest level. Nice!

  2. I love this! Even though I don’t teach Math, I always wonder how I would apply these fun projects to that curriculum. Your kids must love to see their faces and work in a project like this. Parents would love seeing this on Back to School Nights and during conferences. Any ideas of how to apply this to a middle school level? Nice job:)

Leave a Reply

